Dave Mustaine: Chris Adler no longer in Megadeth

Chris Adler, of Lamb of God fame, is no longer a part of Megadeth, Dave Mustaine said during a news conference in Tel Aviv on Friday, ahead of the band's show in Israel on the following day. Meeting with journalists, Mustaine was asked by yours truly whether the way new members, like Adler and guitarist Kiko Loureiro, has changed at all since the band's inception. In response Mustaine stated emphatically that Adler was no longer in the band, calling him a "session guy" and "work for hire."

Countdown to (a drummer's) Extinction

Countdown to (a drummer's) Extinction

That last statement is especially jarring, since Adler has been, as far as the way the band has conducted itself in the press, been treated as a full member of the band, appearing in music videos and promo shots accompanying Megadeth latest release, Dystopia. Furthermore, while the band is currently touring with Soilwork drummer Dirk Verbeuren, Megadeth has repeatedly stated that Verbeuren, who was temporarily hired as a result of conflicting Lamb of God and Megadeth schedules, was only intended as a fill in until Adler's ultimate return.

Read more on MachineMusic (and like us on Facebook):

Interview with Chris Reifert of Autopsy

Interview with Devin Townsend 

Interview with J. of White Zombie

Interview with Billy Gould of Faith No More

That, however, no longer seems to be the case, with Mustaine claiming that the band has yet to announce its new drummer. With so much public shows of affection between band leaders Mustaine and David Ellefson and the aforementioned Verbeuren, I wouldn't be surprised if he was Megadeth's next drummer.

The full transcript of Mustaine's answer can be found below:

The band has its fair share of staff reshuffles along the way, a long-running band so it’s natural for that to happen, have you found that your attitude toward that, toward welcoming new people in, the consideration you take into who you want to join the band, has that changed over the years? With Chris and Kiko in the band, do you have other things in mind as to what you’re looking for? Personal chemistry, musical chemistry?

If you’re in the presence of greatness, it’s shameful not to allow that to be great. But let me back up though: Chris Adler is not in Megadeth, he’s in Lamb of God. He was a session guy, he was what you could call work for hire. And he has nothing to do with us anymore, and he is with his band. I am very grateful for his contributions, I’m grateful for him introducing us to Dirk. We still haven't announced who our new drummer is going to be, it won’t be Chris Adler, because he’s in Lamb of God.

As far as having new guys in the band, as you grow up you have a choice either to learn from your mistakes or you’re destined to repeat them. And a lot of the things that I do, because of the nature of who I am, every move that I make is chronicled. There are a couple of websites in particular that would go under if it wasn’t for me, because they survive off of posting every breath I take.

I have a feeling I know which two you’re talking about.

[Smiles] You know, sometimes I look under my bed when I check into hotels because I know those fuckers are hiding there. But, you know I lead a pretty wholesome, clean life. I don’t do hard drugs, I like to drink a beer, wine. I lived in California, pot was a big thing back then, so as far as me being the person I was back when cocaine and heroin was rampant, that has a little bit of an effect of your attitude, you know? Especially when you run out, so I think that us having matured, lived through all that stuff, and just the fact that we’re still successful, especially the degree to which we’re successful, to continue to act angry, it would be an act, I’m not angry. Now, there are certain things that piss me off, some guy was in the plane a few days ago, we were flying to some place and the guy farted the whole trip, and I was like [covering nose] oh my god. Like, I skydive, and I was like ‘What I wouldn’t give for my chute. There are things you still have to deal with, it’s human nature."